Luftwaffe and Allied Air Forces Discussion Forum

Luftwaffe and Allied Air Forces Discussion Forum (http://forum.12oclockhigh.net/index.php)
-   Luftwaffe and Axis Air Forces (http://forum.12oclockhigh.net/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Question about Gerhard Backhorn's sidearm (http://forum.12oclockhigh.net/showthread.php?t=11240)

HKC012 18th December 2007 11:31

Question about Gerhard Backhorn's sidearm

Good day, I am studying the information about the second best german pilot in WWII Gerhard Backhorn. I would like to know what sidearm was actually used by Gerhard Backhorn as his self defense weapon. Someone said it was P38,

In addition, was it a common habit for him to carry flare gun for survival?

thank you for your kindness reply!

http://www.luftwaffe39-45.historia.n...s/barkhorn.jpg

John Beaman 18th December 2007 20:31

Re: Question about Gerhard Backhorn's sidearm

The correct spelling of his name is Barkhorn.;)

George Hopp 19th December 2007 00:40

Quote:

In addition, was it a common habit for him to carry flare gun for survival?
The flare gun was usually in the aircraft, but often pilots carried some flares attached in a holder that wrapped around a leg of their flying suit.

HKC012 19th December 2007 07:38

Thank you for your information!
I have a question that will the p38 pistol sound bulky to the fighter?
As this is important as they need to get out from the plane whey their plane is shot. Since the holster may obstruct them.

I welcome any further information regarding to Barkhorn or similiar discussion on air crew.

thanks

WEISNER 19th December 2007 08:54

The Luger being such a perfect built Pistol, ie, tight tolerances, the holster for it was quite bulky and basically sealed it off from outside dirt and dust and was large and unhandy.
I.... if givin the choice, would hands down have picked the P38! as it was more compact, and forgiving to dirt and abuse... such as a Bail out and coming down in swampy conditions on the Ost front.