Luftwaffe and Allied Air Forces Discussion Forum

Luftwaffe and Allied Air Forces Discussion Forum (http://forum.12oclockhigh.net/index.php)
-   Books and Magazines (http://forum.12oclockhigh.net/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   A plea from me and no doubt other writers (http://forum.12oclockhigh.net/showthread.php?t=56616)

Chris Goss 17th March 2020 12:06

A plea from me and no doubt other writers

Having monitored some of the reviews on Amazon and others, can I be allowed to say the following:

- If a book arrives damaged, it is not my fault but "Review" is what you thought of the book not the postal service or packing.
- If a book is described as a photo album book, don't criticize the author for not going into greater detail in the text. Photo book is just that with enhanced captions and an intro.
- I am no technical expert (unlike the likes of Mikael Olrog and others) which is why my books are described as "in combat" (something about which I do know something). I leave technical matters to the experts and stress this on the cover.

Jukka Juutinen 17th March 2020 13:15

Re: A plea from me and no doubt other writers

Good points 1 and 2. The 3rd is a bit mixed issue for e.g. Helion's "Tigers in Combat 3" is, despite its name, highly technical in its content so perhaps someone might expect something similar from other similarly titled books...

Jukka Juutinen 17th March 2020 13:17

As for photo books, e.g. Joshua Stoff's book on American aircraft production is definitely a photo book, but thanks to very extensive captions, it has substantial text as well. Perhaps authors/publishers should consider having similar substantial captions as standard...

Chris Goss 17th March 2020 13:17

Thanks Jukka-I knew you would rise to the challenge!

Stig Jarlevik 17th March 2020 13:59

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chris Goss (Post 284742)
Thanks Jukka-I knew you would rise to the challenge!

Chris