Luftwaffe and Allied Air Forces Discussion Forum  

Go Back   Luftwaffe and Allied Air Forces Discussion Forum > Discussion > Luftwaffe and Axis Air Forces

Luftwaffe and Axis Air Forces Please use this forum to discuss the German Luftwaffe and the Air Forces of its Allies.

Old 17th May 2012, 20:28
Alter Hase

Roger Gaemperle is on a distinguished road
Peltz and Steinbock, Angriffsfuehrer England & IX. Fliegerkorps

Hello,

As part of the preparation of "Captured Eagles Vol. II", I studied different sources regarding the date when Dietrich Peltz was put in charge with the task of preparing Operation Steinbock. Almost every source I consulted had different dates or no dates at all.

There are also inconsistencies regarding the date when Peltz was put in charge of IX. Fliegerkorps and/or when he was promoted to "Angriffsführer England".

So, my questions are:

• Was Peltz put in charge of IX. Fliegerkorps at the same occasion as he was put in charge of Operation Steinbock (i.e. he only was put in charge of IX. Fliegerkorps to have the units at his commands to perform Operation Steinbock)?

• Was becoming "Angriffsführer England" equivalent to being put in charge of Operation Steinbock, or did these two "promotions" happen at different dates/occasions?

• Independent of the first question, when and at what occasion was Peltz put in charge of IX. Fliegerkorps (after studying various sources, the most reliable date gives September 1943) and when and at what occasion was Peltz put in charge of commanding Operation Steinbock (I guess it was also in September 1943, but some sources state November)?

• In Galland's book, he mentions a meeting with Göring where Peltz was also present. At the end of that meeting Göring, according to Galland, announced that Peltz would become "Angriffsführer England", but Galland gives no date for that meeting. Does anybody now more about it?