Luftwaffe and Allied Air Forces Discussion Forum  

Go Back   Luftwaffe and Allied Air Forces Discussion Forum > Discussion > Luftwaffe and Axis Air Forces

Luftwaffe and Axis Air Forces Please use this forum to discuss the German Luftwaffe and the Air Forces of its Allies.

Old 12th May 2005, 14:57

brewerjerry
allied pilots in luftwaffe

Hi all,
Just a strange thought, I know it is well documented that there were 'allied nation' troops that served with the german ground forces in WW2 ( as I understand it only on the east front ).
But anyone know of any air crew from 'allied nations' , that flew in the luftwaffe ?
Cheers
Jerry
Old 12th May 2005, 17:48

LMLassen is on a distinguished road
Re: allied pilots in luftwaffe

I'm no Luftwaffe expert, but this may explain why few 'allied' pilots served in the Luftwaffe: A few Danes managed to join Luftwaffe in 1941-1942. They all had previous service in the Danish Army and Navy air services. But German occupied Denmark was not an Allied Nation at the time (not legally Axis either).

When they went to Berlin to be tested - they were tested with a large number of foreign nationals - among them applicants from Ukraine and China).
Six Danish pilots got accepted, but after a short while they were transferred to the Waffen SS (which had recruited a large number of at the same time).
The reason for this was a
'Führerbefehl' that demanded all foreigners should serve in the Waffen SS - this would explain the few foreign/allied pilots in the Luftwaffe.

The Danes refused the transfer claiming they joined as pilots and would only serve as pilots - only a personal protest to Reichmarshall Herman Göering made it possible for them to stay in the Luftwaffe. Göering made it clear, that no further dispensation from the Füherbefehl would be made.