Luftwaffe and Allied Air Forces Discussion Forum  

Go Back   Luftwaffe and Allied Air Forces Discussion Forum > Discussion > Luftwaffe and Axis Air Forces

Luftwaffe and Axis Air Forces Please use this forum to discuss the German Luftwaffe and the Air Forces of its Allies.

Old 8th January 2007, 16:57

kalender1973 is on a distinguished road
Question to FAF experts

Hello,

I have two questions about book "Kohtalokkaat lennot 1939-1944 ..." author Jaakko Hyvönen.

1. How is the book structured ? Is somebody, who didn't know finnish language, can understand it with help of dictionary ?
2. Contains the book only losses in action, as KIA, WIA etc. or other category as KIC, KIFA, etc. And what unit are covered ? Operational or traning also ?

Thanks.
Old 8th January 2007, 21:20
Alter Hase

Juha is on a distinguished road
Re: Question to FAF experts

I'm not a FAF expert but
1. I would say the book is a hard nut for those who cannot read Finnish. Text is descriptive.
2. IIRC the book includes all a/c which were total loss and all incidents were someone got killed, so it includes also accident, also training accidents in training schools. It's a 2nd volume of 3 book series, the others handle pre-war and post war accidents. I have the books but I'm still at work, but just stopped earning my salary, and so this is from memory.

HTH
Juha
Old 9th January 2007, 09:47

kalender1973 is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by Juha View Post
I'm not a FAF expert but
1. I would say the book is a hard nut for those who cannot read Finnish. Text is descriptive.
2. IIRC the book includes all a/c which were total loss and all incidents were someone got killed, so it includes also accident, also training accidents in training schools. It's a 2nd volume of 3 book series, the others handle pre-war and post war accidents. I have the books but I'm still at work, but just stopped earning my salary, and so this is from memory.

HTH
Juha
Thanks Juha !
Old 10th January 2007, 20:23