Luftwaffe and Allied Air Forces Discussion Forum  

Go Back   Luftwaffe and Allied Air Forces Discussion Forum > Discussion > Luftwaffe and Axis Air Forces

Luftwaffe and Axis Air Forces Please use this forum to discuss the German Luftwaffe and the Air Forces of its Allies.

Old 3rd March 2005, 00:57

timothydaiss
Salerno Invasion September 1943 - attack on USS Savannah

I am an American writer, conducting research on the aerial bombing of a US Navy Cruiser, the USS Savannah by a German Dornier bomber during Operation Avalanche, the invasion of Salerno, Italy on September 11, 1943.

I have ample (more than enough) documents, history, eye witness accounts and photos (USS Savannah in action) about this event from the American point of view but also want to get the German perspective as well. However, I am not sure which agency or institution to contact in your country. Does anybody have any suggestions that might help me obtain the information I need?
Old 3rd March 2005, 01:32

Morten Jessen will become famous soon enough
Re: Salerno Invasion September 1943 - attack on USS Savannah

Hi Timothy,

I am currently researching the units, operations and pilots who flew the Fw 190 in the Mediterranean, May 1943 - July 1944 together with my research partner Andrew Arthy. That includes attacks made by Fw 190 fighter-bombers of 6./SKG 10 on USS Savannah around the period in question.

I can recommend a good researcher at the Freiburg archive. His name is Sebastian Remus and you can contact him at remusresearch @ aol.com (remove the spaces around @). He charges 25 euro pr. hour, but he is effective and knows the archive very well.

You can also contact the archive directly, but I do not think that would help you as they would probably just hand you a list of free-lance researchers, such as Sebastian Remus.

Bundesarchiv-Militararchiv Freiburg
Postfach
D- 79024
Freiburg i. Br.
Germany

There is also a bundesarchiv web site: http://www.bundesarchiv.de