Luftwaffe and Allied Air Forces Discussion Forum  

Go Back   Luftwaffe and Allied Air Forces Discussion Forum > Discussion > Luftwaffe and Axis Air Forces

Luftwaffe and Axis Air Forces Please use this forum to discuss the German Luftwaffe and the Air Forces of its Allies.

Old 19th July 2008, 17:59

O.Menu
Eye witness account: 401 FS vs JG1, Domfront area, 31st July 1944

Hi!

As a physician I never lose one opportunity to ear WW2 stories from my patients. This morning Mr Auguste Leidinger, a 80 years old man, told me that in 1944, he was working for the mayor from Céaucé town in Normandy, 10km South from Domfront…

There, on 31st of July he remember clearly to have seen a fight in the air where a Canadian pilot named P.T.Jarvis was shot down and killed just at 12h00 when the bells from the church could be eared. But you know what, the victorious German pilot also died just after. Oh, but why? Did I ask. Well, the German aircraft was circling around his victim very low above the ground and he unfortunately collide a tree, a chestnut tree! Both airplanes felt down on the ground pretty near one from each other.

First check:

*From “2nd TAF”, by C.Shores & C.Thomas:
- F/L T.P.Jarvis was shot down and killed at around 13h30 inside his Spitfire IX MJ662 near their Domfront objective when the 12 spitfires from the 401 Squadron attacked 12 Fw 190 probably from JG1.
- 2 Fw 190 claimed shot down, the only Spifire loss was F/L. Jarvis.

*From “JG1 history” by E.Mombeeck:
- 3 Fw 190 losses on 31st of July:
- Fw.Rudolf Rauhaus, killed, Stab I./JG1, Fw190A-8 W.Nr.172606 “white 20” crashed near Beaumont-sur-Sarthe (South from Alençon) after they meet allied fighters
- Uffz.Heinz Fleisschauer, lost, 3./JG1, Fw190A-8 W.Nr.171004 “yellow 7” crashed around Caen after they meet allied fighters
- Lt. Heinz Kottucz, killed, 3./JG1, Fw190A-8 W.Nr.173024 “yellow 8” crashed North-west from Alençon after fighting against P-47

*From « La Luftwaffe face au Débarquement » by JB.Frappé :