Luftwaffe and Allied Air Forces Discussion Forum  

Go Back   Luftwaffe and Allied Air Forces Discussion Forum > Discussion > Luftwaffe and Axis Air Forces

Luftwaffe and Axis Air Forces Please use this forum to discuss the German Luftwaffe and the Air Forces of its Allies.

Old 26th April 2013, 20:58
SimonBrown

An intro plus a question; Luftwaffe losses - 25th August 1940

A quick introduction; My name is Simon Brown, I'm an underwater photographer with an interest in aircraft crash sites. Over the years I have photographed a Junkers 52 in Hartvig, a pair of of HE 115s in Trondheim (both in Norway), a P47-D in the English Channel and the Goodwin Sands Dornier Do-17 . Here;s a link to one image from the Dornier.

I have been working with a Weymouth-based skipper to identify some of the aircraft crash sites in the waters around Portland Bill. Of particular interest are Luftwaffe losses on the 25th of August 1940 between 17:00hrs and 18:30hrs (approx).

From the ORB's of 17 Squadron, 87 Squadron & 609 Squadron respectively four pilots claimed a Bf 109, and a further two pilots claimed a 'probable' for the same type.

Listed as MIA from that day is Hptm MACULAN, Alois of 6./JG 53 and we believe he was an Bf 109 pilot shot down during the battle. This pilot, and his participation in the action, is of specific interest.

I have many, many questions and I hope the forum may be able to help. Please excuse me if these questions are somewhat basic or naive, but here goes:-

Do the Luftwaffe records still exist?
Is it possible to search them?
Is there a record of Luftwaffe records listing specific losses on a given day?
Would there be detailed records of the battle from a Luftwaffe perspective?
Would it be possible to trace relatives of an individual pilot?

I have no idea if the above can be answered, but look forward to reading what the forum can share.
Old 28th April 2013, 05:13
Alter Hase

Larry Hickey
Re: An intro plus a question; Luftwaffe losses - 25th August 1940