Luftwaffe and Allied Air Forces Discussion Forum  

Go Back   Luftwaffe and Allied Air Forces Discussion Forum > Discussion > Allied and Soviet Air Forces

Allied and Soviet Air Forces Please use this forum to discuss the Air Forces of the Western Allies and the Soviet Union.

Old 19th June 2019, 20:24

Ben Rawlings is on a distinguished road
8th Fighter Group War Diaries.

Hey all,

I am looking for the day to day squadron reports for Eighth Air Force Fighter Groups and any encounter reports to go with this.

I am particularly interested in the 78th, 352nd and 355th diaries. Jay A. Stout's Fighter Group book on the 352nd gives the micro film numbers and I have inquired with the Air Force Historical Research Agency who seem to have them and I am waiting to hear back. I have no idea about the cost but I am assuming it will be expensive. I am a UK resident so I sadly can't get over to look at them in person at this time.

I have a more or less complete set for the 4th Fighter Group and I am interested in finding them for other groups. Any advice, help etc is appreciated.

This is to help a little project of mine chronicling a general history of the Fighter Groups of the Eighth.

Many thanks

Ben.
Old 20th June 2019, 15:04
Alter Hase

RSwank is on a distinguished road
Re: 8th Fighter Group War Diaries.

Have you tried searching on the site airforcehistoryindex.org ?

It is an index of the Air Force Historical Research Agency holdings. For those reels that have been moved to CD, the cost is $30 per CD.

It includes some links to search tips and ordering information.

Searching is done something like this. For the 355th FG, which consisted of the 354th, 357th and 358th FS, you could search as follows:
Starting on this page: http://airforcehistoryindex.org/search.php

Using search terms: Group/0355/Fighter and between say 01/01/1940 and 12/31/1945

http://airforcehistoryindex.org/sear...12%2F31%2F1945