Luftwaffe and Allied Air Forces Discussion Forum  

Go Back   Luftwaffe and Allied Air Forces Discussion Forum > Discussion > Luftwaffe and Axis Air Forces

Luftwaffe and Axis Air Forces Please use this forum to discuss the German Luftwaffe and the Air Forces of its Allies.

Old 12th May 2011, 13:40

konrad.strzelecki is on a distinguished road
Airfield Swidnik, Poland (archive research needed)

Dear colleagues,

My hometown, Swidnik is located 7km east from Lublin in eastern Poland. Airfield Swidnik was constructed in 1937 as a Poland’s largest and most modern civil aviation training base (pre-conscription training). Bombed by the Luftwaffe in September 1939 but suffered only moderate damage. During the WW2 it was actively used by Luftwaffe until July 1944, when Soviets came in.

I've been exploring the history of Swidnik airfield for four years. As a result of collected documents together with my friends, we have created a website:

Polish aviation school:
http://www.historia.swidnik.net/lotn...szkola-pilotow

Luftwaffe 1940-41:
http://www.historia.swidnik.net/foto...affe-1940-1941

There is an intelligence report (British Air Ministry's Directorate of Intelligence, Section A.I.2.(b)) saying details about the airfield. And there is additional information saying that the report is prepared on the basis of aerial photo which was taken taken 10 July 1944.

This is the document I found about month ago in British National Archives: http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/c...CATID=-3199344
I wrote to them, but unfortunatelly I was told, that without hiring a researcher or personal visit I won't be able to know anything about what is inside.