Luftwaffe and Allied Air Forces Discussion Forum  

Go Back   Luftwaffe and Allied Air Forces Discussion Forum > Discussion > Allied and Soviet Air Forces

Allied and Soviet Air Forces Please use this forum to discuss the Air Forces of the Western Allies and the Soviet Union.

Old 25th February 2005, 14:12

tommog
sílver or chrome on p47 or p51

hi,
just wanted to know if the p47 was real chrome or just kind of silver.
since allclad it´s no problem to get a nice chrome paint. silverpaint from tamiya etc. are just silver. but i am not sure. ops:
i am more in english wwII fighters but now i want to build the tamiya p47 with lifelike decals.
thanks for any tip
tom
Old 25th February 2005, 16:13
He who rules the forum...

Ruy Horta has disabled reputation
Shouldn't answer be neither?

Natural Aluminum isn't Chrome nor Silver...

OTOH, I am not an expert

And now I see with eye serene
The very pulse of the machine;
A being breathing thoughtful breath,
A traveller between life and death;
Old 25th February 2005, 16:19

tommog
that´s why i am asking
i know it´s aluminium, but you can make it shine like chrome by polishing.
last year i saw some p51 in duxford and they were shining like a mirror. but i am not sure if these planes today really look the same like 60 years ago. maybe they overrestore it a little? americans tend to do so.
so what is the best way to spray the plane? white aluminium from allclad look also very good but doesn´t shine very much.
ideas?
tom
Old 25th February 2005, 19:39

ArtieBob will become famous soon enough
Aluminum finishes