PDA

View Full Version : ME 109g-6 u4 arnaments?

henchman
2nd September 2007, 20:07
Just have question about the g6 u4 model. Was it never armed with 20mm cannon pods under the wing or was it called r6 then? Was this not standard equipment was it seldom used?

Here is the manual for this plane

http://109lair.hobbyvista.com/techref/manuals/bf109g6u4.pdf

Andreas Brekken
2nd September 2007, 21:15
Hi.

I am not an expert on this, but according to Harald Vogt in his work "Messerschmitt Bf 109G/K Field Conversion Kits (Rustsätze)" this would not lead to the aircraft being noted as anything but Bf 109 G-6/U4. I have found his work somewhat confusing to read and feel that this might have something to do with the translation?

The Rustsätze or field conversion kits could be, as given by the name, mounted in the field, and also taken off an aircraft. The G-6 had a Rüstsatz VI which was the MG 151/20's in underwing gondolas as an option, but as this was not a factory installed kit it would not show up on the designation (in contrast to Umbausätze, factory mounted conversions, and engine conversions AS, MW50 etc).

Not an easy field, and my first instinct was in fact to write this up as a Bf 109G-6/U4/R6 however wrong that might be!

Also, I have looked at Prien/Rodeike and Sommerau's books, and these three references do not agree at all

Sommerau tends to use the FULL 'designations' (for example G6/R6 for a plain Bf 109G-6 with two underwing 151/20's, but G6/U4/R5! for an aircraft with Mk 108 cannon and underwing 151/20 gondolas (I do not understand why Sommerau states that the Rustsatz was R6 on a G6 and R5 on a G6/U4...), while Vogt and Prien/Rodeike tends towards the same conclusion, that an addition of a Rustsatz did not change the designation of the aircraft....