Luftwaffe and Allied Air Forces Discussion Forum  

Go Back   Luftwaffe and Allied Air Forces Discussion Forum > Discussion > Luftwaffe and Axis Air Forces

Luftwaffe and Axis Air Forces Please use this forum to discuss the German Luftwaffe and the Air Forces of its Allies.

Old 5th December 2015, 12:43

Kim Christiansen is on a distinguished road
Smile ww2 Plane in Denmark !!!

Hello All.

I am a scubadiver and we have found a plane in the Northern part of Denmark's east coast. I am looking for information of this crash, i can not find anything of this crash in this area. Please see enclosed photos, maybe some of you can recognize the type of the plane ???

http://www.danas-have.dk/He219.htm
Old 5th December 2015, 14:35

Harrie is on a distinguished road
Re: ww2 Plane in Denmark !!!

Hi Kim

My opinion a Me-110 , no small ammo 7.92mm on Me-109 .
But im not an expert
The beluftungsventil is same as photo below this is from a Me 110

Last edited by Harrie; 16th December 2019 at 17:34.
Old 5th December 2015, 16:37
Alter Hase

harrison987 is on a distinguished road

MG17 was 7.92...and the Me109 E thru G4 was armed with that.

Mike
Old 5th December 2015, 18:55

Mr Schmitt is on a distinguished road

Hi,

You would need to show more pictures of any other recovered parts. The Schmierstoff fuel filler cap is on many Luftwaffe Aircraft. The dates on the bullets ie 37, 38 39 etc, try and look and see what is latest number. This will possibly give "approximate" year when it last flew. If you find MG17's post what number are stamped into them. This again will give a year. The Piston sleeve does not have the familiar screw and castle nut at the lower edge where it fits into the block, you can see where the broken con rod is sticking out, as this would help to ID it as DB601/605 etc.

Kind Regards
Old 6th December 2015, 21:31

Smile Re: ww2 Plane in Denmark !!!

Hi all

Thanks for your input, I will try to find more parts of the plane, we will start diving again in the spring.